Macon County MS4 Partners


Who We Are

MS4 (Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System)

The local MS4 Work Group  is made up of Macon County, the City of Decatur, the Village of Mt. Zion, the Village of Forsyth and the Macon County Soil and Water Conservation District. 

Each of the MS4 Communities holds a permit with the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency that allows them to discharge stormwater, conveyed through the city storm sewer system, to local streams, rivers, and lakes.  In order to meet the requirements of their permit, the MS4 Communities are obligated to verify and enforce compliance of their local stormwater ordinances.  For this reason, a Land Disturbance Permit is necessary for certain land disturbing activities as listed here.  

The Land Disturbance Permit provides a system to notify the local MS4 Community of the construction activities occurring within their jurisdiction and offsets some of the cost to inspect the site to verify compliance with the local stormwater ordinances. 

For more information about the local Land Disturbance Permit system, explore the other tabs at the top of this page.